excesive process warning dovecote/dict

Post Reply
dvk01
Junior Member
Posts: 80
Joined: 20 Feb 2010, 18:10

excesive process warning dovecote/dict

Post by dvk01 »

Since last night, I am getting loads of lfd alerts
Time: Sun Dec 22 08:01:31 2013 +0000
Account: dovecot
Resource: Process Time
Exceeded: 34326 > 2400 (seconds)
Executable: /usr/libexec/dovecot/dict
Command Line: dovecot/dict
PID: 24272 (Parent PID:7206)
Killed: No

is this another one we have to add to csf pignore where cpanel have buggered up dovecote again with their incessant fiddling or have I got a problem on my server and it is warning on genuine attacks. It seems to have started at about 11pm GMT last night and I have had an hourly warning ever since
EXE:/usr/libexec/dovecot/dict
ForumAdmin
Moderator
Posts: 1492
Joined: 01 Oct 2008, 09:24

Re: excesive process warning dovecote/dict

Post by ForumAdmin »

Looks like it's a valid Dovecot process, so ignore it unless it seems to be looping/causing a performance issue:
http://wiki2.dovecot.org/Services#dict
vince
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: 25 Aug 2007, 08:55

Re: excesive process warning dovecote/dict

Post by vince »

The cPanel support response is here FYI:
http://forums.cpanel.net/f5/dovecot-iss ... ost1501081
dvk01
Junior Member
Posts: 80
Joined: 20 Feb 2010, 18:10

Re: excesive process warning dovecote/dict

Post by dvk01 »

Vince, that Cpanel entry is a different issue
everybody knows about the lfd problems with auth and anvil and the default csf/lfd pignore contains those entries, but this is a new one that just started after the latest cpanel update, so they appear to have buggered things up again
vince
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: 25 Aug 2007, 08:55

Re: excesive process warning dovecote/dict

Post by vince »

I see, sorry, didn't realise your issue was dovecote/dict instead of /anvil, I should read more carefully.
But in case it helps, my /anvil problem is only on one VPS which has WHM 1.4.0 and csf v6.38, but this problem doesn't happen on another VPS with WHM 1.4.1 and csf v6.37
Not sure if you are able to downgrade to csf v6.37 easily to test ?
Post Reply