Change 777 to 775 when CXS found it

Sergio
Junior Member
Posts: 1430
Joined: 12 Dec 2006, 14:56

Change 777 to 775 when CXS found it

Post by Sergio »

It will be nice that CXS could change directories from 777 to 775 on the fly, that will help to speed things up.

Of course, that option could be turned ON or OFF.

Regards,

Sergio
chirpy
Moderator
Posts: 3537
Joined: 09 Dec 2006, 18:13

Post by chirpy »

I'll think about it. It could easily break a lot of things, though, if you don't have suPHP enabled.
Hostell
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Joined: 26 Jun 2008, 14:05

Post by Hostell »

Sergio wrote:It will be nice that CXS could change directories from 777 to 775 on the fly, that will help to speed things up.

Of course, that option could be turned ON or OFF.

Regards,

Sergio
+1. Useful feature.
ForumAdmin
Moderator
Posts: 1483
Joined: 01 Oct 2008, 09:24

Post by ForumAdmin »

This has now been added to v1.19
vince
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: 25 Aug 2007, 08:55

Post by vince »

Excuse my ignorance, why change directories from 777 to 775 instead of 755?

Thanks,

- Vince
chirpy
Moderator
Posts: 3537
Joined: 09 Dec 2006, 18:13

Post by chirpy »

The feature actually uses 755 as the chmod.
Sergio
Junior Member
Posts: 1430
Joined: 12 Dec 2006, 14:56

Post by Sergio »

chirpy wrote:The feature actually uses 755 as the chmod.
Hello Chirpy,
thank you for installing this feature, the only problem that I have just found is that CXS is chmoding /tmp to 755 and that doesn't work and I have suPHP enabled. So, I chmod it to 1777 and it is working now. The same was with /tmp/.ICE-unix
ForumAdmin
Moderator
Posts: 1483
Joined: 01 Oct 2008, 09:24

Post by ForumAdmin »

You certainly shouldn't use the option on /tmp, it's only intended for use within user public_html directories.
vince
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: 25 Aug 2007, 08:55

Post by vince »

ForumAdmin wrote:You certainly shouldn't use the option on /tmp, it's only intended for use within user public_html directories.
Isn't that a risk, as I've seen bad files being run from /tmp in the past - or was that just a badly configured cpanel setting?

- Vince
chirpy
Moderator
Posts: 3537
Joined: 09 Dec 2006, 18:13

Post by chirpy »

Scanning /tmp is fine, just don't use --options W on it.
Post Reply